NIS

Testimonials

Prologue

Our patients are our treasures and these testimonials prove it. They have been kind enough to allow us to share them with you. -Dr.P.


_______________________________



Humble satisfaction
_______________________________

October 2018

I was facing “mesh” hernia surgery in 2 weeks. Thank God I found out about Dr. Petersen’s no-mesh technique...

My doctor had assured me that the mesh technique for hernia repair surgery was the no-brainer, no-worries way to go. The rate for hernia recurrence was only 2%. He even gave me the option of state-of-the-art robotic surgery involving only 3 small incisions with minimal pain, that would have me “back in the saddle” in just 2 weeks. When I asked him how many “mesh” surgeries he had performed, he smiled and looked to me as if he was counting.

“Hundreds?” I offered.

“O yeah,” he said with confidence. I made my appointment for surgery and left the office fairly optimistic, with a brochure in hand that explained the minimally-invasive, allegedly no-complications, no-side-effects mesh surgery. It seemed so “slam-dunk.”

For some reason that bothered me.

A few days later I went online to do my due diligence and check out this so-called safe and easy mesh surgery. What was this? 20% chance of chronic pain?...Debilitating, dagger-like pain from “migrating” mesh?...Horror stories of men who had lost their reproductive powers?...Doctors washing their hands of any liability?

Then I found Dr. Petersen’s website. Honestly, after reading his information on the risks of mesh and the benefits of his technique, I felt both relieved and skeptical. But I figured, What do I have to lose in filling out the online questionnaire? It only took 5 or 10 minutes. The survey said Petersen’s office would get back to me soon. This was Friday night. They contacted me on Monday.

A couple phone calls later, I was talking with Dr. Petersen himself. I had a list of questions, which he answered to my satisfaction. His hernia recurrence rate without mesh was only 2.7%, still very low risk. Then he had some questions for me, and he determined from my answers that with mesh repair surgery I would be at very high risk for chronic pain. He sounded very competent, but he practiced 7 hours away from me in Las Vegas.

So, a few days later I called my “mesh doctor” and asked him if he performed non-mesh surgery or knew of any doctor in the area who did. He said no to both questions. I thought about asking him about the potential side effects of mesh. But he hadn’t volunteered that information during my office visit, so how could I trust his answer now?

Dr. Petersen’s frank yet soft-spoken manner had already won me over.

I cancelled my mesh surgery and scheduled a surgery with Dr. Petersen. Fortunately he was able to see me the following week.

Long story short, the trip to Las Vegas was worth it. I am very impressed with Dr. Petersen as well as with his staff and assistants. They were all friendly, reassuring and compassionate from beginning to end. And his office is checking in on me regularly to make sure I’m okay. (Will a mesh surgeon do that?)

I’m writing this testimonial 2 weeks after my surgery. Sure, there was and there still is some pain (Hello, it’s SURGERY okay?) but it’s fading day by day. If I wished, I could have experienced even less pain, but I’m not a big fan of pain pills. I took less than half of the pain medication that Dr. Petersen’s prescription allowed.

If you have a hernia and are considering mesh repair, listen to me. My only “agenda” is that I’m a very satisfied patient who wants others to be healthy and live without chronic pain. Please, PLEASE... check out Dr. Petersen first. Fill out his online questionnaire so his office can contact you.

--Jim B.


_______________________________

10/1/2018

Dr Petersen,

Thank you again and again. Feeling better by the hour. End of day 3 after surgery.

Everything is still improving exactly as you described. It was hard to fly afterward and worth it. The hotel and staff and all are beautiful and invaluable but nothing compares to homemade chicken soup and my own family.

We are all amazed and grateful and thinking about you only when we breathe. I sneezed earlier today. This time i said ouch once. Nothing worse. Glad we used no norco. Diet and guts are returning to normal quickly.

Please keep up the excellent work. You provide proof that the simplest answers usually yield best results. We will keep in touch. Please let us know any time we can help.

Thank you again,

Joe


Thanks Joe - Dr.P.
_______________________________

September 21, 2018

Dear Dr. Petersen,

Words cannot accurately express our deep thanks to you and the staff, both at your office and also at the MICOE center.

While I was at first hesitant, (not Chris, please note), about him having surgery out-of-state and without previously knowing you, I could now, personally, be your biggest advocate. I am sure, however, it won’t be long before someone else will come along and feel the same way, taking my place, if they haven’t already. I just haven’t had a chance to express it to you. I can’t say enough about the excellent care Chris had, both during his pre-op and post-op, with the follow up phone calls from Grace and also from Kari. It is indeed a leap of faith when you are dealing with the unknown but that first day with yourself really made Chris comfortable and set into motion the next day’s surgery with ease.

You were so very kind and answered all of our questions both before and after the surgical procedure and just made us feel good. I can’t truly thank you enough for those moments which helped Chris personally feel better but us both all the more secure in that we had found the right person to help him. Please note, you, Dr. Petersen, made a difference that day in both our lives and we will never forget it.

Please note that your skills and also the program you have set up to assist others, be it self-employed or otherwise who don’t have insurance is exemplary. You are to be commended for your efforts and I wish that many others would understand the approach and perhaps follow suit.

Please note that Kari, from her diligence in keeping in touch with us, handling the paperwork and reviewing all of the details was both kind and helpful. Her understanding of our situation was very much appreciated and was her follow up upon our return home.

Grace and Theresa, at the surgical center, were amazing and if their ears aren’t ringing, they should be as Chris has sung their praises all over the east coast. Their “appreciation” of Chris’ humor and the gentle kindness in which they displayed their professional care and concern for his well being was heart felt and as Chris put it, “bar none”. His admiration of them is extremely high and you are fortunate to have such gifted colleagues to work with.

Finally, just another thank you. Chris has been home now for about two weeks. He is on the mend and “listening” sometimes but understands the best recovery is to follow Dr.’s orders! He is getting rest, sleeping well and his incision is healing nicely. While I have enjoyed being “Nurse Betty”, I am glad he is getting back to normal. Chris is so happy with the results of your efforts and we are grateful for your help.

Wishing you a beautiful day, with warmest regards~

Denise & Chris




Thanks Denise and Chris - Picture 2 weeks post op.
_______________________________

June 26, 2018

Thank you Dr Petersen, Kari, mark and surgical team for saving my life. Even though the mesh destroyed my reproductive organs, I am so thankful to be alive. Now life can go forward from here.. love all you guys and hope all is well.




Right on! - Dr.P.
_______________________________

March 22, 2018

Kari,

I am so sorry I missed your call. I did call today and spoke with Mark. I am doing much better than I thought I would be at this point. The constant pain in my lower right side and testicle is almost completely gone. It flares up from time to time and I have some pain on and off, but it is becoming less and less painful as the days pass. I am still just resting and laying around a lot. I have done a little walking around but plan on resting for another month. After 8 weeks I will slowly start moving forward again. I wanted to thank Dr. Petersen and all of you again. I turned 55 the 16th and truly believe I will be able to regroup and rebuild my life all because of Dr. P and all of you and I was in a terrible place because it had progressed for so long untreated and misdiagnosed. I am actually hungry again and I am starting to feel like getting up and doing stuff again instead of being exhausted and couch bound everyday with no appetite and in pain. I will keep you posted and please if you ever need me call the house because my cell reception in the house is not that great and most times it goes to VM. I will continue to tell everyone about my interaction and great experience with Dr. Petersen and all of you and if I see anyone slandering Him or saying anything negative about Him I will hammer them and put them in thier place. Dr. P and all of you will never truly know exactly what you did for me. You gave me my life back and for that I will always be gretful. I will do everything in my power to help Dr. Petersen & Staff and anyone who is suffering from this plastic poison. I will pay His generosity forward somehow and someway. I still can't believe that this plastic mesh caused me and so many people so many issues and very few Doctors offer hope to mesh injured people. I thank God for Dr. Petersen and all of you. Thanks again for everything..

Rob


_______________________________

March, 2018

DEAR DR. PETERSON:March, 2018

I AM FOREVER GRATEFUL FOR THE MY HERNIA REPAIR SURGERY YOU PERFORMED ON FEBRUARY 8!”,

AFTER SEEKING SURGICAL OPINIONS HERE IN RENO, I WAS NOT SATISFIED WITH THE PROCEDURES OFFERED TO ME, IN ESSENCE, TOLD TO ME! AFTER TALKING WITH SEVERAL CO-WORKERS AND FRIENDS, I WAS DIRECTED TO YOUR WEBSITE TO SEE IF THE PROCEDURE YOU USED FOR MY HERNIA REPAIR WAS WHAT I WAS SEEKING. AFTER SEARCHING YOUR WEBSITE, READING MANY TESTIMONIALS, TALKING WITH MY SISTER WHO IS A NURSE, BLOGGING WITH PEOPLE AROUND THE WORLD REGARDING DISSATISFACT ION WITH MESH AND OTHER REPAIR PROCEDURES, I CONTACTED YOUR OFFICE AND GOT THE BALL ROLLING!

MY DAUGHTER AND I DROVE TO LAS VEGAS AND STAYED AT HAMPTON IN SUMMERLIN, A SHORT DISTANCE FROM YOUR OFFICE AND SURGERY CENTER. WE ARRIVED TUESDAY NIGHT, MET WITH YOU AND YOUR STAFF WEDNESDAY, HAD SURGERY THURSDAY, SAW YOU AGAIN FRIDAY AFTERNOON, AND WAS ON OUR WAY HOME SATURDAY.March, 2018

AFTER SURGERY MY PAIN WAS MINIMAL. I KEPT ON THE MEDS AS RECOMMENDED THEN STOPPED THEM SUNDAY AS ICE AND ESSENTIAL OILS MANAGED THE LAST OF THE DISCOMFORT I WAS FEELING. I RETURNED TO WORK FEBRUARY 207”, AND WHILE THE FIRST DAY WAS TIRING, I FEEL SO MUCH BETTER! I AM FAITHFULLY NOT LIFTING MUCH OF ANYTHING AND STAYING WELL BELOW THE 20 POUND LIMIT. I HAVE STARTED WALKING AGAIN (INBETWEEN SNOWFALLS) AND EXPECT TO BE HIKING A LOT THIS SPRING AND SUMMER! MY SLEEP IS DEEP AND RESTFUL, FIRST TIME IN A LONG TIME

AGAIN, I CANNOT EVEN BEGIN TO THANK YOU AND YOUR STAFF FOR A SURGERY WELL DONE!March, 2018

PLEASE USE THIS LETTER ANY WAY YOU LIKE.... '

CATHY AND ERIN

SPARKS, NEVADA

,. Luke 1:37 - For with God nothing shall be impossible.


_______________________________





_______________________________

November 27, 2017

I was skeptical about travelling for surgery, however, it was worth it. Dr. Petersen, Kari & Mike were professional and informative. The surgery was performed at an outpatient surgery center across for the hospital. The technique that he uses and the care he provides is excellent. In the research of deciding whether to use his services for surgery, I did see the negative reviews. My opinion is that yes, they probably were not helped by the repair surgery that he performed, BUT my opinion is that they also would not have been happy with anyone. Do NOT let those reviews scare you off. Dr. Petersen will discuss any questions that you have.

I am about a month past my surgery and am recovering very nicely. The only pain that I had was immediately after the surgery and that was controlled with over the counter pain medication and only for 3 days. Again, travelling to Las Vegas to have the surgery is worth doing.

Health insurance??? They consider it cosmetic surgery and therefore not necessary and therefore they will not cover the procedure. Because of Dr. Petersen's dedication to providing reasonably priced surgery, I saved thousands of dollars (not exaggerating).

Conclusion; take the time to check out his website, consult with him and schedule your surgery.

K.Miles


_______________________________

September 24, 2017

For Dr Petersen, Gratitude and appreciation for dedication to his work. Finally after 7 years I completed my Hernia mesh ex-plant from Left side, revision with Mesh removal and right inguinal hernia repair surgery without mesh by Dr Petersen on the 27 June 2017 in Nevada USA. The original surgery 7 years ago in Australia, failed immediately with increasing medical and health issues up to the day of current surgery. When I had sufficient money I flew to Nevada USA from Australia in June 2017 where Dr Petersen removed the excessive unnecessary mesh and 17 metal Helical screws a very difficult and extensive surgery. Prior to the current surgery I was hobbling around in pain with restricted movement and with very little sleep for years with in two days of surgery I could walk with out fear of pain or restriction in legs and feet. Within weeks I could walk up hills with out much issue except for slight pain with surgery scars and healing. The two main very positive results so far are the ability to walk normally without hobbling in pain as before the original operation. And the main result is the massive reduction of stress to my immune system and previous infection vectors in the mesh. It felt like my lower body had been restored to pre 2010 surgery and after three months has continued to improve. This result is due to the skill and dedication to Dr Petersen's professional code, The hernia was repaired without mesh and has not failed as did the original surgery attempt in Australia with mesh. I sought medical opinions of 9 Australian surgeons to explant the mesh and screws and repair the original hernia and replied with various procedures all not acceptable and I believe they were not willing to risk their medical insurance. Surgeon Dr Kevin Petersen is a pioneer in his field and a master at what he does, saves peoples lives from a fate worse than death. I have great respect for Dr Petersens skill and desire to help people. If anyone needs to know more I can assist through my experience. I now know I have an opportunity (not offered in Australia) of a new chance at a long productive life.


Thank you Ian - Dr.P.
Pageof 9
Page size